Do Something

I’m currently reading through Kevin DeYoung’s book “Just Do Something (How to make decisions without dreams, etc. etc. etc.)  I really resonate with the wisdom of this book mostly because I can “insert my life here” in the pages.  I distinctly remember a period of time where I essentially had no direction for about a year and a half.  During that time I also experienced loss in many of the things I had invested in for three years due to no fault of my own.  I remember the moment God revealed to me what He was doing with me at that time.  At one point I frustratingly prayed, “God just tell me what you want me to do!  You know I’ll do it!  I’ve been willing to die to myself so far, if you want me to go to Africa and be martyred I’ll do it, just tell me where to go!”  Now God didn’t audibly speak to me it was more like having the final piece of the puzzle slide into place and it all made sense.  “That’s it.  That’s what I’ve been getting at.  Not that you aren’t willing to sacrifice for me but that if I did tell you to go to Africa you would get up and go, and wouldn’t need me anymore.  That’s why I had to take from you when you were content and faithful.  That’s why I had to take from you, and forced you to watch another be blessed in the exact way you longed to be blessed.  That’s why I not only took things away but left you with less than zero.  Do you want me, or the blessings of serving me? Even my direction?  Do you want ME?”  In a unique mixture on grief and joy, I saw that it took God doing that to get me reading and praying to Him.  In all that, He was drawing me closer to Himself. 

(BTW get the book)

Leave a Reply

